top of page
  • Writer's pictureKimberly B. Roybal

Apartment Sized Thanksgiving Tablescape

Even though I'm not hosting Thanksgiving dinner this year, I still wanted to create a simple yet festive tablescape that's the perfect size for a small apartment!



Thanksgiving and Christmas are my favorite holidays, but I often feel that Thanksgiving gets railroaded. Don't get me wrong, I love the anticipation of Christmas and the joy of decorating for it, but poor Thanksgiving needs its anticipation too! Particularly since 2020 has been an interesting year, being mindful about the numerous blessings in my life is a priority. So sorry Christmas, you'll have to wait until Thanksgiving is over!


Both my apartment and dining room aren't exactly roomy, so creating a small yet elegant tablescape is easy and fun! I can't wait to live in a home one day and host a Thanksgiving dinner around a large table that can hold 20 people, but it's not this year -- which is probably for the best because my cooking could use some improvement!


Color Choices


Because I don't have overtly themed dishes and decor, being strategic about colors is key for a festive tablescape. That's why I chose pink cloth napkins and candles. They contribute to the Thanksgiving theme subtly yet elegantly -- plus I couldn't resist incorporating my favorite color! I even think that an umber orange color for the napkins or candles would be perfect for that classic fall look!


Since fall colors tend to be on the warmer side, gold details bring even more warmth to a Thanksgiving tablescape. I wish I had gold silverware to coordinate the metallics perfectly, but these candle holders help add a warm luster to this small table scape!



Elegant Glassware


Another element that truly brings out a timeless look to any tablescape is lovely glassware. These vintage glasses just sparkle when light hits them, perfect for a candle lit dinner! They were actually given to me by my grandma from her own private collection, along with matching wine and port glasses. This makes them even more special to me! Because my table is quite small, I just have the one tall glass at each setting, but usually I'd add two-to-three different sized glasses depending on the beverages being served!



Textures & Prints


Another important element in any tablescape is to use texture and prints. My absolute go-to's are these gold patterned dessert plates! Layered on top of a simple white dinner plate, they bring such elegance and style to a simple setting.


I also love this striped table runner that ties in subtle dark tones to the tablescape. It also gives it more depth. Particularly with a colorful set of cloth napkins, a neutral table runner against a white table cloth results in a minimalistic yet coordinated look -- one of my favorite aesthetics. Its versatility can be re-used for many other occasions and holidays too!




Thanksgiving may look differently this year for a great many people, so I truly hope you all have a lovely and safe Thanksgiving! XOXO


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page